new year, fresh start

I’ve never really been a big blogger. Something about posting my thoughts and experiences has always deterred me…what if no one cares about what I’m writing, what if I’m judged for my thoughts, what if I don’t have time to keep up with a blog, etc. But somehow as 2012 rapidly approaches, I find myself with two New Years Resolutions; one that is all too common and one that is something I’ve never focused on the past 25 years of my life. That said, I think attempting to keep up with a blog could help tremendously as I focus on goals and growing as an individual over the coming year.

New Years Resolution #1: We’ll start with what is most likely the most common New Year’s Resolution of all time: I would like to focus on becoming more healthy and fit, and pushing myself to new levels in regards to dieting and exercise routines. Two years ago, I was living in Tennessee and in the best shape of my life. I had dedicated myself to Insanity, a beachbody routine that focuses on HIIT workouts and high-intensity type exercises. I also rarely ate out, cooked healthy meals, and brought my lunch to work everyday. Two years later, I’ve found a new home in downtown Chicago with an unwelcome 25 lbs that have crept up on my once skinny ass. My life that once revolved around working out and staying in shape has now become one focused on work, happy hours, and house parties. My goal for 2012 is to find that mentality I lost at some point over the past 2 years-I want to start bringing my lunch to work, committing to some type of exercise 6 days a week, and monitor my diet. I never intended my move to Chicago to be a complete lifestyle change, and I think it’s about time I started focusing on a lifestyle that has always been extremely important to me.

New Years Resolution #2: SLOW DOWN! I don’t think I can emphasize the importance of this resolution enough. I’ve always had that on-the-go mentality: my weekdays right now consist of waking up, jump in the shower, rush to get ready, walk 30 minutes to work, work until 5, happy hour after work until 7:30, 30 minute walk home, cook dinner with friends, hang out with friends way too late, go to sleep, repeat. I’ve found that I’m always in a rush and never really making time for myself. I’m always surrounding myself with other people and in turn, I’ve neglected myself, my health, and my fitness regimen. My goal for 2012 is to find time each day for myself, whether it be cooking a meal alone, reading a book before bed, going to the gym, or simply hanging out at home by myself. I’ve become absorbed in a lifestyle where I’m constantly surrounded by other people, and at some point I forgot the importance really focusing on what’s been important to me all these years…and that is health and happiness.

With that said, I am going to start focusing on these resolutions today as opposed to the New Year…I am attending my first Saturday morning bardio (barre and cardio inspired) class in months and then plan to cook up some fish and asparagus when I get home. Because hey, the sooner I start, the sooner I’ll start seeing those results I’m hoping for 🙂

