Superfoods, Supergreens, and BOKU!

Over the past couple weeks, I’ve been seeing a lot of sales for different organic products and, more specifically, super foods/super green powders. Super foods have become all the rage from a fitness perspective-I see articles popping up all over the place in the health magazines I read each month. For those of you who aren’t familiar with them, they are considered to be foods that have the capability to ward off numerous diseases and help with mood, cholesterol, and how your body feels in general. Some of the most common “superfoods” include tomatoes, raspberries, broccoli, and beans. They are rich in antioxidants and holistic doctors often prescribe these foods as an alternative to drugs. I already incorporate some of these into my diet, but I became intrigued when I saw articles discussing “SuperGreens.”

Many of my friends know that since New Years, I’ve focused on incorporating clean and balanced eating into my diet. I’ve lost 14 inches , dropped 2 sizes, and most importantly feel healthier and stronger. That said, I believe there’s always room for improvement in your diet, and I can already see one area for me that needs some work. Before I started this journey, the food group I really needed to work on eating more was fruit. Fast forward to today, and I regularly eat raspberries, apples, grapes, and love mixing fruit with 0% Face greek yogurt. However, I feel like I’ve replaced what used to be my servings of vegetables with fruit, and I’ve done a terrible job of making sure I’m getting the necessary amount of veggies in my diet. So naturally, I became intrigued when I started reading about “super greens.”

Supergreen powders are basically a combination of TONS of green superfoods that have been organically broken down and mixed into a powder. They provide the recommended daily amount of nutritional content that you would get from vegetables, and they can be mixed in water, milk/almond milk, food and smoothies. When I started researching the best brands, I immediately thought of the Tone It Up girls and their obession with Boku. The brand Boku offers a superfood mixture that combines over 15 different vegetables, probiotics, and enzymes into 1 tbs of powder. I would go into more detail, but I found a thorough article discussing the product here. Obviously I still need to work on incorporating veggies into my diet, but this powder still serves as a great supplement to my daily routine–especially since I haven’t been eating enough of those green foods.

I ordered this product today so once I try the product for myself, I’ll post a review. In the meantime, if you want to try some for yourself, click here!

