The Horror Food Commonly Known as Beets

Earlier this week I decided to finally give JuiceRx a try and picked up the Pineapple Jalapeno flavor. I was really impressed by how delicious it was, mostly because pineapple-jalapeno juice doesn’t exactly sound appetizing.

ImageImage

They still had a few flavors left after my workout yesterday morning, so I decided to give another flavor a try…this time, the Lunchtime Detox. The Lunchtime Detox is a mixture of beets, ginger, cucumber, and green apple and I was told that this was one of the healthiest (and best tasting) juices that Juice Rx has. I’m not going to lie, I was a little hesitant about trying it because I had a traumatic experience with beet juice once before, but I decided to get over it because beets are REALLY good for you and are also known for detoxifying the liver…which I definitely could benefit from!

Before I get into my review of the Lunchtime Detox from hell, I feel like I should briefly talk about my first experience earlier this summer with beets. I had just bought a juicer and found a recipe online for beets, green apples and oranges that sounded pretty good. My friend Ninah and I got to work and surprisingly made some pretty delicious juice!

Afterwards we joked about how we actually felt high from all the nutrients that our body wasn’t used to and vowed to make the concoction weekly to help clean everything out.

WELL, about 4 hours went by and suddenly I felt HORRIBLE. It started with stomach cramps and quickly turned into a bad stomachache, hot sweats, and diarrhea that lingered for the next few hours (I know this is TMI but I honestly can’t believe the side effects I’ve had from this stupid vegetable so I find it necessary to share my experience). The following day I did a bit of research and learned that it’s pretty common for juicing to make you nauseous in the beginning because of its high nutrient content. I decided that my body was clearly just full of too many toxins and it was probably best to stick to basic vegetables and fruits until my body became accustomed to juicing on a regular basis.

Fast forward to yesterday where I somehow regained the courage to try beet juice. I don’t juice very often but I figured since this drink is one of the more common juices at Juice Rx that I’d be fine. I WAS SO WRONG! Right when I tasted it I knew that I was not going to enjoy this drink. I ended up forcing it down and was proud of myself for not throwing it out. I went on with my day until two hours later when the exact same side effects kicked in.

I did more research online and realized that beets in particular can cause nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, and a discolored stool. Apparently they often cause “detox reactions” and if consumed you should start with a very small amount and work your way up. Here’s an excerpt from an article in Woman’s Passions about the cons of fresh juice:

“Unfortunately, some people cannot drink beet juice, as it can cause sickness, vomiting, giddiness, heartthrob, and general weakness. You need to get used to concentrated beet juice little by little, starting with one tablespoon per day.”

I have been enlightened 4 months too late! Unfortunately my two experiences with beet juice were so traumatizing that I don’t think I will be trying this miracle juice anytime soon. Every article I read said not to completely give it up and start with small quantities but the side effects I had were awful! If I choose to do any juice cleanses anytime soon I will definitely be requesting that beet juice be excluded…and I hope you guys fare better with this vegetable than I did!

