A Bit of Inspiration for your Friday!

Happy Friday, everyone! I’m off to Dallas in a few hours for vacation (my last trip for awhile, thank God!) but wanted to write a quick post before I head out.

This morning I went to my usual 6:00am Shred415 class and was disliking the running portion of the workout (which I hate most days) when our instructor, Mark, said something that really resonated with me. We were doing a 15 minute run where we increase our incline every minute and simultaneously increase our pace. I usually end up stopping around the 8.0 or 9.0 incline but today Mark made the announcement that he wanted everyone to focus on something that was pushing them to the top of the hill. It could be anything; a person, vacation, food, anything that would get you to that next level and prevent you from giving up. And not only did I make it to the top of that hill without stopping, but I ran my fastest 30 second sprint of all time immediately after.

For me, that person at the top of my hill pushing me today was my sister. At my brother’s wedding this past weekend, it was so weird to not have my sister standing next to me for family photos and it was the first time my mom, dad, brother, and I were all together since before she died. One of my favorite (although somber) parts of the wedding was seeing a card on top of each person’s napkin stating that my brother and Nicole were making a donation to the Huntsman Cancer Institute in lieu of a wedding gift in honor of my sister. How cool is that! My mom, dad, and I had no idea they chose to do this and I think it was a great way to celebrate both my sister’s memory and their wedding at the same time.

The one thing I will always admire about my sister was her kind heart and her will to never stop fighting, even through the final days of her life. I think things like pushing myself on a treadmill for 15 minutes or going to get my annual checkup at the gyno is scary/difficult, which is ridiculous because that is nothing compared to the difficult times others are going through! I’m extending Mark’s challenge this morning to all of you, whether it’s pushing yourself to the next level in your workout, choosing that salad over a burger and fries (it is difficult!), treating someone with respect that you typically can’t stand or whatever obstacles you’re currently going through in your life. Our bodies are so much more powerful than we give them credit for and so often we let our mind get in the way of things we could easily achieve if we just pushed ourselves through that uncomfortable barrier.

I hope this weekend you all think of someone or something that motivates you to be your best in any challenges you may face! And because I have my sister to thank for my interest in healthy eating/living now, I thought I’d share a couple good reads about clean eating:

Eating for Health and Weight

About Plant Based Diets

Crash Course in Plant-Based Dieting

Have a great weekend!

