Roadtrip to Memphis!

This past weekend a few friends and I road tripped to Memphis for the weekend and had an absolute blast. Our road trip didn’t start until 7:00 PM so we ended up arriving in Memphis at 3:00 AM and sipped on wine with my dad until 4:30…needless to say, we did not get much sleep!

Rules of the road:

Image

Saturday morning we headed to Rhodes, my alma mater, for some boozing, football watching, and catching up with old friends. The weather was absolutely perfect and I couldn’t help but feel nostalgic walking around campus. Rhodes really is one of the most beautiful campuses in the country and it was so nice to spend the afternoon reliving my college experience with my friends and old classmates.

Image

Part of the reason I was so excited about Memphis was getting to see two of my best friends from college that I haven’t seen since I moved to Chicago.

ImageImage

Vic and Lomas (old school pictures above!) were a year older than me and the three of us were inseparable throughout college. They definitely took me under their wing my freshman year and I have them to thank for some of my best college memories. We don’t keep in touch all the time but everytime we see each other it’s like we didn’t miss a beat…and since we are all in the same fantasy football league, obviously they meshed well with my Chi town friends!

Image

Image

We made the classic homecoming mistake of not eating beforehand so by the end of the game we were all ravenous and in the mood for some BBQ. Even though there were 7 of us and 1 vehicle, that didn’t stop us from piling into my mom’s car and heading to Bar-B-Q Shop for some ribs and pork sandwiches.

Image

That picture is probably my favorite from the weekend. Everyone knew each other for about 4 hours but no one had a problem invading personal spaces in order to get some delicious grub.

After lunch we went back to rest up at the hotel before heading downtown. Vic and Lomas stopped by the hotel to hang out for a bit before we decided to go to Silky O’ Sullivans. I wish I would have taken more pics on Beale Street but I guess we were having too much fun to remember to capture the entire evening!

ImageImage

Our hotel was a bit of a drive from downtown so we didn’t stay out too late, and our mini vacation ended with a stop at Gus’s World Famous Fried Chicken.

Image

Any idea what we had to eat? Ha.

ImageImage

We ate ourselves into a food coma which lasted the majority of the road trip home and spent our last 7 hours playing the Name game, Alphabet game, and listening to the Steelers to keep ourselves occupied. You know you have a great group of friends when you don’t want to kill each other after 16 hours of being locked in a car with one another!

Looking at these pictures makes me realize what a great group of friends I have. My friends from Chicago fit right in with everyone in Memphis and my only regret is that we all don’t live in the same city….but I guess that’s what road trips like this are for!

