VIVA MEXICO!

Well, I think I’ve finally fully recovered from my 5 day vacation this past week to Mexico….which was much different from my first trip last month. Mexico trip #1 was like a relaxing getaway; little to no excessive drinking, daily workouts and yoga, and lots of book reading on the beach. This trip turned out to be a non stop shit show of drinking 10am-2am and my “workouts” consisted of bocce ball and dancing at the resort’s night club (which is actually a sports bar before 10pm…..classy, I know).

Getting back into my workout routine has been a living hell this week so I thought I’d focus on my vacation for the majority of the post. The only thing fitness related I will say is that I won’t be making the mistake of going a whole week without working out ever again. I’ve lost endurance in my runs and the speed I was building up swimming has also regressed. I’m more than a bit frustrated but I should have my groove back in the next week or two…lesson learned.

NOW, the fun part….Mexico! Mark and I made the trip to the Now Jade resort in Riviera Maya for our friends wedding. The place was beautiful-it was definitely nicer than any resort I’ve ever been to (which doesn’t say much) and I made sure to take full advantage of the 24 hour all-you-can-eat-and-drink-bars/restaurants.

Right when we got there, everyone headed straight to the pool bar. Mark and I had ‘bubba kegs’ which we put to very good use the entire time we were there. 

Image

For the most part our days consisted of bocce ball with occasional naps and watching the boys jump waves in the ocean. After we got back to our room the first day, Mark had the most impressive amount of seaweed I’ve ever seen in a swimsuit…that pretty much confirmed I was passing on the ocean frolicking this time around.

Image

Image

Bocce ball takes a lot more energy than you’d think (as pictured above).

Our nights were spent cocktailing, eating at the numerous restaurants at the resort, and dancing at Scores, the resort’s sports bar and night club.

Image

Image

Image

My favorite day of the trip was definitely Saturday, Jenna and Ricky’s big day. Jenna looked absolutely beautiful and their ceremony overlooked the beach which was breathtaking.

Image

Image

The Packers game was also playing that night so a group of us would take 5 minute breaks from dancing at the reception to check the score of the game…this was Mark and my reaction when we found out the Packers got destroyed:

Image

Don’t we look sober?

Image

Usually by the end of a vacation I’m ready to get home, but this vacation was an exception. All I could think about was how cold Chicago was going to be and how lucky the bride and groom were for getting to stay until Wednesday.

Image

Image

I’m coping by trying to drown my memories of Mexico with thoughts of Napa Valley in 7 months….anddddd now it’s back to training!

